Charles Stross, "Overtime"


Thursday, April 19, 2018

SCARBOROUGH FAIR Series by Margarita Morris_Tour and Reviews

Historical Mystery/Thriller
Date Published: 20 March 2016
Publisher:  Landmark Media

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Scarborough Fair
Are you going to Scarborough Fair?

1899: Alice isn’t mad. So why has she been put away in a Victorian lunatic asylum without any hope of escape?

2016: Rose is excited when Dan asks her to go to the fair with him. But an encounter with some dangerous men leads them to an abandoned lunatic asylum with dark secrets of its own.

Visiting Scarborough over a century apart, Alice and Rose’s stories are nevertheless connected in mysterious ways.

Scarborough Fair is the first in a thrilling historical trilogy. Are you going to Scarborough Fair?

Historical Mystery/Thriller
Date Published:  16 December 2016
Publisher: Landmark Media

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Scarborough Ball
A party should be fun. Not a matter of life and death.

1923: A New Year's Eve Ball at Scarborough's Grand Hotel promises fun and excitement. But for Lilian it soon turns into a matter of life and death.

2016: At the start of term, Rose is keen to make new friends. Instead she makes an enemy. Someone is out for revenge. And Rose is the target.

Scarborough Ball is the second in the Scarborough Fair series, a thrilling historical trilogy.

Historical Mystery/Thriller
Date Published:  13 January 2018
Publisher:  Landmark Media

 photo add-to-goodreads-button_zpsc7b3c634.png

Scarborough Rock
The thrilling conclusion to the Scarborough Fair series.

1957: In post-war Britain, Rock ‘n Roll is sweeping the nation, but some forms of love are against the law and pre-marital sex is a taboo subject. Sandra and David find themselves in entirely different, yet comparable, circumstances. Is love ever enough?

2017: All Rose has to do is give evidence in court and her nemesis will be put behind bars for a very long time. But Max isn’t going to let a group of teenagers stand between him and freedom. He will fight till the end. No matter who gets hurt.

The events of the past come back to haunt the present. Nothing is without consequences.

Scarborough Rock is the final book in the Scarborough Fair series, a thrilling historical trilogy.

About the Author

Margarita Morris was born in Harrogate, North Yorkshire. She studied Modern Languages at Jesus College, Oxford and worked in computing for eleven years. She lives in Oxfordshire with her husband and two sons.

Contact Links

Purchase Links Amazon

RABT Book Tours & PR

The Haunted Reading Room's Reviews
Scarborough Fair (Scarborough Fair, #1)Scarborough Fair by Margarita Morris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


SCARBOROUGH FAIR is an endearing time travel contemporary and Victorian romance with a sociological impact, first in a trilogy. In 1899, a London lady vacations in Scarborough, Yorkshire, a beach resort, hoping to achieve clarity on the subject of her betrothal. What she discovers is danger, not clarity, subjected to a nightmarish involuntary commitment, for her betrothed is a megalomaniac gold digger. Her maid, Mary, however, achieves a happy life, settling in Scarborough.

In the present time, sixteen-year-old Rose of London spends the summer in Scarborough with her grandmother, Mary's granddaughter. She encounters friendship, enduring romance, and danger from a vicious local criminal ring.

SCARBOROUGH FAIR is a YA novel, but is certainly an enjoyable read for adults as well.

Scarborough Ball (Scarborough Fair, #2)Scarborough Ball by Margarita Morris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This trilogy would be well worth reading if only for the story of Rose, Dan, and Scarborough. The time travel aspects and the historical components make the novels that much more scrumptious. The author draws her characters and settings so vivid, clearly delineating the historical figures and the contemporary characters, and showing us Scarborough as it was and is. This one has its historical period December 1923 into 1924, the silent film and Jazz Age era, post-World War I.

Scarborough Rock (Scarborough Fair, #3)Scarborough Rock by Margarita Morris
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: SCARBOROUGH ROCK by Margarita Morris

SCARBOROUGH ROCK {think : "Rock Around the Clock" era} is third in this enterprising and truly entertaining series {think: rereadable}. In the present day (2017), Rose and Dan are hoping to finally achieve at least some level of closure as hopefully sociopathic criminal "mastermind" Max faces trial. Of course, the ideal solution would be to turn back time, back to before Dan's dad hooked up with criminals, before Rose' s grandmother passed on, before Rose nearly died.

Turning back time Is also a thread in the 1957 component, a horrible era in which to "be different," a bad time to be alone and without wise guidance or help, a time when some of the characters of that era suffer unbearable grief.

I am so thrilled with this series. YA it may be, nevertheless: I love it.

1 comment: